A Warwickshire kitchen renovation can look like anything from about £6,800 to £21,000, and the gap is mostly scope rather than postcode. A July 2026 aggregator page puts Warwick at £6,825 to £21,000 with a typical £13,913, while Which? says its tables include VAT but leave out plumbing, electrics and insulation. This Rugby guide shows how to read those figures, what a quotation should itemise, which checks apply to electrical work, and how to compare three quotes without being misled by a low total. None of the figures here is a Belmax quotation.

The short answer

Treat ranges as benchmarks, not prices

For a Rugby or Warwickshire kitchen, treat published ranges as benchmarks, not quotations. One dated Warwick estimate runs from £6,825 to £21,000, while Which? says labour is roughly 20 to 30 per cent of spend and its standard scope leaves out plumbing and electrics. Ask every builder to price the same itemised scope, with VAT stated, before you compare totals.

Read a Warwickshire kitchen figure by scope, date and VAT first

Two kitchens priced at £7,000 and £20,000 are often not the same job, so the first step is to ask what each figure includes, when it was written and whether VAT is added.

Search for kitchen prices in Warwickshire and you meet three kinds of number. There are national tables from consumer and trade bodies, local pages from aggregators that adjust a national average by town, and quotations from builders who have actually seen your room. Only the last is a price you can sign. The first two are useful for deciding whether a plan is realistic before you spend a Saturday measuring.

Three questions sort most of the confusion. What is in scope: strip-out, cabinets, worktops, appliances, plumbing, electrics, flooring, tiling and decoration all move the total. What is the date: kitchen costs shift quickly, so a figure from last year may already understate today's market. And what is the tax basis: the GOV.UK page on VAT rates confirms the standard rate is 20 per cent, which matters because some published figures include it and others do not say.

Rugby sits in Warwickshire, but a county label tells you little about your own kitchen. A galley in a terraced house and an open-plan room in a rear extension share a postcode area and almost nothing else. Use the figures below to build a range, then let itemised quotations replace them.

Check the guidance: GOV.UK: VAT rates.

What the published Warwickshire and UK numbers actually say

A July 2026 aggregator page prices a Warwick kitchen at £6,825 to £21,000, while Which? says its own tables include VAT but exclude plumbing, electrics and insulation.

TradeCost UK, an aggregator, lists Warwick kitchen installation at £6,825 to £21,000 with a typical figure of £13,913. It says the Warwick price is the UK average of £6,500 to £20,000 multiplied by 1.05 and describes its numbers as indicative averages, not quotes. It does not explain how the multiplier was chosen, so treat it as a rough local nudge on a national number.

Which?, updated on 27 April 2026, gives a clearer scope definition. A standard kitchen in its tables covers removal of the old kitchen, supply and fitting of units, fittings, flooring, wall tiling and decoration, with standard superstore fittings and appliances. Plumbing, electrics and insulation sit outside, and Magnet Kitchens is quoted as suggesting about 30 per cent of the total for plumbing, flooring, electrics and other extras. The tables themselves are behind a membership, so no total is repeated here.

The table sets the three sources side by side so you can see why they differ.

What each source shows, checked 6 November 2026. National or aggregator benchmarks, not Belmax quotations. VAT as stated by each page.
SourceDate shownHeadline figureScope and VAT
TradeCost UK (aggregator)Updated 7 July 2026Warwick £6,825 to £21,000, typical £13,913Strip-out, first-fix, fitting, tiling, flooring; VAT not stated
Which?Updated 27 April 2026Labour about 20 to 30 per cent of spendTables include VAT; plumbing, electrics and insulation excluded
Federation of Master Builders26 January 202630 square metre kitchen: 20 units, £7,000 or more, before worktops and fittingCabinets only in that example; VAT not stated

Where the Warwick page contradicts itself

The TradeCost page carries a 2026 heading and a July 2026 update line, yet its body and calculator refer to 2025 pricing. Its complex tier runs to £31,500 while the headline high is £21,000. Neither flaw makes the page useless, but both are reasons not to quote its typical figure as fact. When two parts of one page disagree, ask which one you are being asked to trust.

Check the guidance: TradeCost UK: kitchen installation cost in Warwick, Which?: how much does a new kitchen cost in 2026?, Federation of Master Builders: how much does a new kitchen cost?.

Where the money goes inside a kitchen budget

The Federation of Master Builders says base cabinets typically take 30 to 35 per cent of a kitchen budget, with worktops and appliances 15 to 20 per cent each.

The same FMB page, dated 26 January 2026, gives typical shares of spend: base cabinets 30 to 35 per cent, worktops 15 to 20, appliances 15 to 20, sinks and taps 3 to 5, and delivery and installation 15 to 20. Those shares are a sense check. If a quotation shows installation at half the total, or cabinets at a tenth, ask for an explanation.

Cabinet choice swings the budget the most. FMB's eight-unit examples, excluding extras and fitting, run from IKEA at £627 to Harvey Jones at £12,000, with Wickes from £979, B&Q from £1,053 and Magnet from £2,487. It adds that a 30 square metre kitchen of about 20 units can be £7,000 or more before worktops, installation and building work. Which? cabinet examples for a 12-unit kitchen, collected in May 2025 and including VAT, run from £1,500 to £2,500 at IKEA to £7,000 to £9,000 at Magnet.

Keep the layout and keep the money

Which? says relocating plumbing and electrics can be expensive and that keeping the existing layout helps control costs. It also says keeping working appliances can save the best part of £1,000, and that new doors and handles on sound carcasses give a big visual change for less money. If your budget is tight, those are the first levers to test with each builder.

Check the guidance: Federation of Master Builders: how much does a new kitchen cost?, Which?: how much does a new kitchen cost in 2026?.

Grey kitchen units and an island being fitted in a large room.
Kitchen fitting underway. First fix and second fix are separate stages, so ask who does each.

Labour, fitting and the trades a fitter cannot cover

Which? puts labour at roughly 20 to 30 per cent of the final spend, but a kitchen fitter generally cannot wire appliances into the mains unless qualified as an electrician.

FMB gives a kitchen fitter at about £35 an hour or a day rate of £120 to £200. These are national figures and VAT is not stated, so use them to check a quotation's logic rather than to set a price. A fitter's quotation can be perfectly honest and still not be a whole-kitchen price.

FMB notes that installation may include connecting gas and plumbing, and that fitters generally cannot wire appliances into the mains unless they are qualified electricians. Which? makes the same separation by leaving plumbing and electrics out of its standard scope. In practice the question for every quote is who does the first fix, who does the second fix, who tests and certifies, and who is responsible when the trades meet.

A builder who manages the whole room can price strip-out, plastering, flooring and the trades under one scope, which is easier to compare. Our kitchen fitter cost guide goes through what a fitting-only quotation should and should not contain.

Check the guidance: Federation of Master Builders: how much does a new kitchen cost?, Which?: how much does a new kitchen cost in 2026?.

Building regulations and who certifies the work in Rugby

GOV.UK says you may need building regulations approval to replace a fuse box and connected electrics, and you do not need to apply yourself if you use someone on a competent person scheme.

Most kitchen refits do not need planning permission, but some parts need a separate building regulations check. GOV.UK lists replacing fuse boxes and connected electrics among the work that may need approval, and says plumbing for a new bathroom may also be covered. It also says you do not need to get approval yourself if you use someone registered with a competent person scheme. The page does not set a kitchen-specific rule, so ask the builder to confirm in writing what applies to your job.

In Rugby, building control is run by Warwick Building Control, a partnership between Rugby Borough Council and Warwick District Council. The council page gives an office number of (01926) 456551. That is a fact only a Warwickshire page gives you: you can ring one office for both boroughs if a builder's answer on electrics or a structural change is vague.

Structural work is different. Taking down a wall to open a kitchen into a dining room, or adding a flue or extractor route through the roof, needs its own checks. If your kitchen plan includes an extension, our extension building regulations guide explains what inspectors look for.

Check the guidance: GOV.UK: building regulations approval, Rugby Borough Council: Warwick Building Control.

Grey kitchen island, dining table and wide garden glazing in an open room.
An open kitchen and dining room. Layout changes are where budgets move most.

Compare three quotations like for like

Warwick District Council advises getting written quotes from at least three reputable companies, outlining the work, start and completion dates, and waste disposal.

A comparison fails when each builder prices a different kitchen. Send the same one-page brief to each and ask for the answers in the same order. Ask for cabinets and worktops as either supplied by you or by them, appliances as allowances or named models, strip-out and waste disposal, first-fix and second-fix trades, flooring and tiling, decoration, a contingency policy for hidden problems, and the VAT basis on the total.

Then read the exclusions before the total. A low quotation that excludes electrics, flooring and making good is not a cheaper kitchen. It is a smaller quotation. Our quote checklist lists the scope lines worth checking.

Warwick District Council also advises avoiding cash deposits, which it says are in most cases not necessary, and paying in stages that reflect work completed, with invoices. Before the final payment, confirm any building control sign-off or electrical certificate has been issued.

Check the guidance: Warwick District Council: how to find a reputable builder.

What to send before you ask for prices

A useful brief names the room, the layout change if any, who supplies the units and appliances, and what you want to keep, so the first quotation is already close to a real price.

Photographs of the room from each corner, rough dimensions, the position of the sink, hob, boiler and consumer unit, and any drawings you hold will save a site visit for most builders. Say whether you are keeping the layout, whether you have chosen units, worktops and appliances, and whether anything is fixed such as a delivery date or a family event.

Be honest about the budget range you have in mind. You do not have to name a figure, but telling a builder whether you are choosing superstore units or bespoke joinery changes the conversation. A good builder will tell you early if the scope and the budget do not match.

If you want to discuss a kitchen in Rugby or elsewhere in Warwickshire, send your postcode, photographs and any drawings through the enquiry link. Ask for any document you would ask any builder for, and compare the written answers side by side.

Check the guidance: Which?: how much does a new kitchen cost in 2026?.

What clients say

Recent words from Belmax clients.

Three public five-star review excerpts, checked 24 September 2026.

★★★★★
“We have been really happy with the service from Belmax Builders. They are reliable, professional and, most importantly, always kept to the agreed schedule.”
Ivett Fecske-KeresztGoogle review excerpt
★★★★★
“Belmax did the job to very high standard, communicated with us the whole time and explained really well what to expect.”
Michal BabičGoogle review excerpt
★★★★★
“Job was started on time and Rob kept us up to date every step of the way. The finished conversion looks amazing.”
Doug WinderGoogle review excerpt
Read the full reviews on Google

Frequently asked questions

How much does a kitchen renovation cost in Warwickshire?

One aggregator page, last updated on 7 July 2026, puts Warwick kitchen installation at £6,825 to £21,000 with a typical £13,913, but it describes the numbers as indicative averages, not quotes. Scope, VAT and the trades included change the total more than the postcode. Ask each builder for an itemised written quotation for your own room, with VAT stated, before relying on any range.

Does a kitchen price include plumbing and electrics?

Not always. Which? says its standard kitchen cost tables exclude plumbing, electrics and insulation, and quotes Magnet Kitchens as suggesting around 30 per cent of the total for plumbing, flooring, electrics and other extras. FMB adds that fitters generally cannot wire appliances into the mains unless qualified as electricians. Ask every quote to name who does first fix, second fix and testing.

Is VAT included in kitchen renovation prices?

It depends on the source. GOV.UK says the standard rate of VAT is 20 per cent for most goods and services. Which? says its BCIS-based cost tables and its cabinet prices include VAT, while the FMB and aggregator pages we opened do not say. Ask each builder to state whether the total includes VAT and to list any exceptions in writing.

Do I need building regulations approval for a new kitchen in Rugby?

It depends on the work. GOV.UK says replacing a fuse box and connected electrics may need approval, and that you do not need to apply yourself if you use someone registered with a competent person scheme. In Rugby, building control is run by Warwick Building Control. Ask the builder to confirm in writing what applies, and ring the council office if the answer is unclear.

How many quotes should I get for a kitchen renovation?

Warwick District Council advises asking for written quotes from at least three reputable companies, outlining the work, start and completion dates and waste disposal. Give each the same brief so the totals can be compared. Read the exclusions before the price, avoid cash deposits where you can, and tie any staged payments to work completed, as the council suggests. Keep every answer in writing.

Sources

Figures, fees and rules change. Every source below was checked on 6 November 2026.

  1. Which?: how much does a new kitchen cost in 2026?Updated 27 April 2026: BCIS-based tables include VAT; labour about 20 to 30 per cent; plumbing, electrics and insulation excluded; cabinet price table from May 2025. Cost tables are behind a membership.
  2. TradeCost UK: kitchen installation cost in WarwickCommercial aggregator, last updated 7 July 2026: Warwick £6,825 to £21,000, typical £13,913; indicative averages, not quotes; headline and body disagree on year and top of range.
  3. Federation of Master Builders: how much does a new kitchen cost?Dated 26 January 2026: cabinet price examples, typical shares of spend, fitter rates; VAT not stated.
  4. GOV.UK: VAT ratesStandard rate of VAT is 20 per cent for most goods and services.
  5. GOV.UK: building regulations approvalApproval may be needed for fuse box and connected electrics and for some plumbing; no approval needed yourself if you use someone on a competent person scheme.
  6. Rugby Borough Council: Warwick Building ControlBuilding control in Rugby is run by Warwick Building Control, a partnership of Rugby Borough Council and Warwick District Council; office telephone (01926) 456551.
  7. Warwick District Council: how to find a reputable builderCouncil advice on written quotes, deposits, staged payments, insurance and a completion certificate before final payment. Page carries no date.